Wednesday, June 19, 2013

SUNNY: BOOK REVIEW "Flirting with Disaster" by Ruthie Knox

Fresh out of a fiasco of a marriage, Katie Clark has retreated to her hometown to start over. The new Katie is sophisticated, cavalier, and hell-bent on kicking butt at her job in her brother’s security firm. But on her first assignment—digging up the truth about the stalker threatening a world-famous singer-songwriter—Katie must endure the silent treatment from a stern but sexy partner who doesn’t want her help . . . or her company.

Sean Owens knows that if he opens his mouth around Katie, she’ll instantly remember him as the geeky kid who sat behind her in high school. Silence is golden, but he can’t keep quiet forever, not with Katie stampeding through their investigation. It’s time for Sean to step up and take control of the case, and his decade-old crush. If he can break through Katie’s newfound independence, they just might find they make a perfect team—on the road, on the job, and in bed.

Things I like about Ruthie Knox's books:
  • Her characters are completely accessible.  They could be your neighbors or the parents of the children in your kid's class.   
  • Their concerns are relatable. Katie is suffering from a crisis of self-esteem.  She keeps second guessing herself because her divorce left her wondering how she missed all the signs. And then they grow in a smart way: 
"I'm not anybody's dream girl.  And I guess I'm not all that tough, and we both know I'm not as smart as you.  But even so, I deserve better than what you're offering me."
  • The relationships are steamy and her couples are good (not necessarily perfect) together:   
"I'm not sure if you've noticed," Katie said, giving him a smile as twisted up and bliss-deranged as her heart felt, "but who you are with me is kind of a mess."
  • The men are multidimensional, not just alpha. Sean is confident and controlling on the outside, but on the inside he's an insecure mess. But they make it work.
And there you have it, the Camelot series.  

IN A NUTSHELL:  Flirting with Disaster is book 3 in the Camelot series by Ruthie Knox.   This book can be a standalone but why do that when you can have a nice three course dinner. Start with the appetizer, How to Misbehave and enjoy your meal.

No comments:

Post a Comment